W.A. Mozart : Works to Play on the Organ

W.A. Mozart : Works to Play on the Organ


W.A. Mozart, Works to play on the Organ
No Page Turn Problem / Ohne Umblätterproblem
(entirely playable without a page turning assistant)

OSC 021 — ISMN : 979-0-707109-21-2
37.5cm x 29.7cm (+binding)
76 pages — 120g/m²

This volume could have been titled “Mozart Organ Works”. But unfortunately, no piece for solo organ can be found in the catalogue of Mozart’s works. Therefore, the ones proposed here are transcriptions of works which, because of their character or their original instrumentation, are particularly suitable for the organ.

The two fantasies KV 594 and 608, as well as for the andante KV 616 which, although originally composed for an automatic cylinder organ, have been transcribed and played on the organ for more than two centuries. As for the adagio KV 356 and the adagio & rondo KV 617, both composed for ‘glass harmonica’, it is the sound of this instrument which somewhat evokes that of the organ. Finally, form or character may also justify the attraction to organ transcription, either because of the presence of a fugue (KV 394, 399, 546, fugues KV 153, 154, 401, 443) or because of a liturgical flavour (“church sonatas” KV 67 and 336, ‘Laudate Dominum’ KV 339).

There are two pitfalls to avoid in the art of transcription. The first one is to preserve at all costs the original text at the risk of obtaining something very difficult to play. The second one is, on the contrary, to oversimplify the text, at the risk of distorting the original work. The transcriptions proposed here try not to fall into any of these traps, and they should give the illusion that Mozart could have composed them for the organ in the first place. They have been made as natural as possible to play, with an organ composition logic and clear voice leading.

With this volume, organist colleagues will have in hand not only a comprehensive collection of ‘Mozart organ works’, but also a truly effective tool, and that they will discover how much ease and efficiency the large format provides when approaching the pieces on which they are working.


KV 67 – Kirchensonate in Eb
KV 153 – Fuga in Eb
KV 154 – Fuga in g
KV 336 – Kirchensonate in C
KV 339 – Laudate Dominum
KV 356 – Adagio in C
KV 394 – Fantasia & Fuga in C
KV 399 – Ouverture & Fuga in C
KV 401 – Fuga in g
KV 443 – Fuga in G
KV 546 – Adagio & Fuga in c
KV 594 – Fantasia n° 1 in f
KV 608 – Fantasia n° 2 in f
KV 616 – Andante in F (original)
KV 616 – Andante in F (pedal organ)
KV 617 – Adagio & Rondo in C
KV 488 – (add.) – Adagio from piano concerto No. 23

Weight 600 g
Dimensions 38 × 30 × 1 cm