L. Vierne : Pièces de Fantaisie, Volume I (Suites 1 and 2)

L. Vierne : Pièces de Fantaisie, Volume I (Suites 1 and 2)


L. Vierne, Pièces de Fantaisie for Organ
Volume I : Suites 1 & 2
No Page Turn Problem / Ohne Umblätterproblem
(entirely playable without a page turning assistant)

OSC 019 — ISMN : 979-0-707109-19-9
37.5cm x 29.7cm (+binding)
40 pages — 120g/m²

Louis Vierne’s twenty four “Pièces de fantaisie” for the Organ, distributed among four suites have been composed for a three manual organ and a pedal board. Published in 1926 and 1927, they constitute 4 suites of 6 pieces each. According to the composer, they are of “average difficulty” and their duration “varies from 3 to 5 minutes”. In practice, this depends on the performer’s tempo, and some can last up to 7 or 8 minutes. The OrganScore format is particularly suitable for these pieces, where hands may be unable to leave the keyboard during very long passages. The four suites are grouped into two volumes. Volume I includes the first and second suites.


1ère Suite Op. 51

  1. Prélude
  2. Andantino
  3. Caprice
  4. Intermezzo
  5. Requiem aeternam
  6. Marche nuptiale

2ème Suite Op. 53

  1. Lamento
  2. Sicilienne
  3. Hymne au soleil
  4. Feux follets
  5. Clair de lune
  6. Toccata
Weight 400 g
Dimensions 38 × 30 × 1 cm