L. Vierne : Pièces de Fantaisie, Volume II (Suites 3 and 4)

L. Vierne : Pièces de Fantaisie, Volume II (Suites 3 and 4)


L. Vierne, Pièces de Fantaisie for Organ
Volume II : Suites 3 & 4
No Page Turn Problem / Ohne Umblätterproblem
(entirely playable without a page turning assistant)

OSC 020 — ISMN : 979-0-707109-20-5
37.5cm x 29.7cm (+binding)
54 pages — 120g/m²

Louis Vierne’s twenty four “Pièces de fantaisie” for the Organ, distributed among four suites have been composed for a three manual organ and a pedal board. Published in 1926 and 1927, they constitute 4 suites of 6 pieces each. According to the composer, they are of “average difficulty” and their duration “varies from 3 to 5 minutes”. In practice, this depends on the performer’s tempo, and some can last up to 7 or 8 minutes. The OrganScore format is particularly suitable for these pieces, where hands may be unable to leave the keyboard during very long passages. The four suites are grouped into two volumes. Volume II includes the third and fourth suites.


3ème Suite Op. 54

  1. Dédicace
  2. Impromptu
  3. Etoile du soir
  4. Fantômes
  5. Sur le Rhin
  6. Carillon de Westminster

4ème Suite Op. 55

  1. Aubade
  2. Résignation
  3. Cathédrales
  4. Naïades
  5. Gargouilles et chimères
  6. Les cloches de Hinckley
Weight 470 g
Dimensions 38 × 30 × 1 cm